Dancing my way to death

Here is the final poem of my four poem set to musical accompaniment at Elizabeth Haines’ art gallery/studio in Pembrokeshire, Wales on August 27th 2022. In case not all the words are clear in the recording, I have printed the poem below:

Dancing my way to death

Not knowing now how much time remains

I put on some music in the living room

and dance like I never did before

(oh, that shy, inhibited, studious boy!).

I hop like a kangaroo with fleas,

I strut like a turkey that doesn’t

believe in Christmas

I fly like an aeroplane that will never

land, but disappear into the blue

blue forever

I click my fingers like flamenco dancer,

El Tigre, twirl my arms and stamp my feet

like Vicente Escudero, sway

like Raquel de Luna

I shake my Parkinson’s shake

I shimmy my Parkinson’s shimmy

I rock my hips to and fro

like a connecting rod and piston

I’m a lovely mover

and alone in my spinning, shaking

who-knows-when-dying flying world

and the bananas in the fruit bowl look

embarrassed but continue to ripen

the apples breathe in and out on their way

to decay and who can stop any of this?

I just keep taking the pills

there will be coffee and cake and poetry

read in the street in flowery shirts

and sometimes when the hot sun shines

perhaps I will unfurl myself on to the lawn

dressed in a crimson shirt (and nothing else!)

and try the rumba, the bossa-nova

the samba, the mambo, the cha-cha-cha

before the light goes out for good

and the earth spins on

without me.

© Dave Urwin 2022  

It’s important to note that I have Parkinson’s Disease, and I am therefore not ‘mocking’ anyone who may suffer from this awful condition, only perhaps laughing at myself!

About jadedmountain

I am a poet, living a rural life in south-west Wales. The purpose of this blog is to publicise my poetry.
This entry was posted in music, poetry, poetry/music collaboration and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment