The wordless earth

The coast of Pembrokeshire must be one of the most beautiful places on the planet, and I am priveleged to live so close to it. Unfortunately, I fail to get there very often, but managed a walk there recently. I am always promising myself that I will go more often. I promise myself again now. The poem is an attempt to deal with the idea of places on earth that just carry on being or growing, when we are not there, as in the Zen Buddhist notion that ‘the grass grows by itself’. We humans overestimate our importance on the planet- it would all carry on quite well enough without us, and indeed does so in the places from which we are absent (except for the damage we have done, and continue to do, on a global scale).

 

The wordless earth

 

 

No words                                                                 dsci0024

 

just grey sky

 

black rock

 

the vast ocean

 

sunlight meagre

 

on the horizon                                   dsci0020

 

a pair of choughs

 

stabbing at the cliff scree

 

blackthorn crouching low

 

where the winds scrape

 

and drag their harrow                dsci0017

 

the heather   the gorse

 

slowly growing

 

in our long  heedlessdsci0011

 

absence.

 

 

 

© David Urwin

 

Wooltack Point, Pembrokeshire, December 19th 2016.

About jadedmountain

I am a poet, living a rural life in south-west Wales. The purpose of this blog is to publicise my poetry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The wordless earth

  1. Wendy Smit-Taylor says:

    As I read … I am there as a shiver of moss on the rock … Thank you Dave

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I have just read this again for a couple of times. It is a professional poem. So good although somehow sad. You are continually improving your writing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

