Earthly resurrection

Here is my very latest poem, inspired by a planting of tulips in my garden, which every year never fail to amaze and delight me. After this, I should speak no more of them.

 

Earthly resurrection                                                

DSCI0026

 

Some may think it quite sad,

some may think it quite ‘zen’,

but I confess that I’ll be glad

to tell the world yet again

of the dusky, seductive beauty

of my sultry Queens of the Night.

I count to very nearly fiftyDSCI0021

blooms with satin sheen that quite

astound the mind with mute perfection.

Why should we look elsewhere than right here now,

this spring, this earthly resurrection?

In the mad chase we lose our sight somehow.

Soon those petals of maroon will drop awayDSCI0022

like all life. We must learn to pluck the day.

 

DSCI0024

© David Urwin 2016

About jadedmountain

I am a poet, living a rural life in south-west Wales. The purpose of this blog is to publicise my poetry.
This entry was posted in flowers, spring, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Earthly resurrection

  1. Your beautiful tulips are becoming famous! They are really lovely with the other white flowers around. Simple, light and essential poem

    Like

Leave a Reply

