In tune with nature?

Here follows a poem written a few years ago, but which is ever relevant to my life, as I ‘harvest’ all my own firewood and heat my cottage with a woodburner. More sticks than ever have been blown from the trees this winter.

Winter Sunday afternoons

DSCI0003
Winter Sunday afternoons
I pick up twigs and sticks
of ash and oak and also willow
from field, garden and outgrown hedgerow
that autumn gales
have torn from the trees’ tangled tresses.

I am blessed by this necessity,
this primeval labour,
this fundamental harvest,
twice warming the body,
kindling the spirit,
distant from the clutch of money,
the claptrap diatribe of politician,
the television’s siren blether.                       DSCI0001

Yes, I am blessed
by this need for fire
that draws me out into haunt of heron,
the fox’s clandestine domain,
the snipe’s hunting grounds,
where frost-bitten air stings skin clean
under the one embracing sky.
© David Urwin 2013

About jadedmountain

I am a poet, living a rural life in south-west Wales. The purpose of this blog is to publicise my poetry.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to In tune with nature?

  1. I already knew this poem but liked to read it again. A true lyric in all ways especially the last part. I imagine the pictures are from Pencwn.

    Like

Leave a Reply

